On 14 September 2021, eight winners of the Ammodo Science Award for fundamental research 2021 received their awards during a festive ceremony at Muziekgebouw in Amsterdam. Each of them was given a grant of €300,000 to be spent on a fundamental research project.

On stage, Ammodo’s chair of the board Steven Perrick underlined the importance of financial support for unfettered fundamental research. “Scientific research without emphasis on practical applications can at times seem a purely intellectual endeavour, but we often find that the pursuit of knowledge for knowledge’s sake leads to the biggest breakthroughs.”

Click here for a selection of photos from the event.

Short videos shed light on the innovative research done by the laureates. Watch them back below to learn more.

Annemieke Aartsma-Rus

Louis Vermeulen

Lisa Herzog

Christian Lange

Patricia Dankers

Walter Immerzeel

Rivke Jaffe

Floris de Lange


Group photo: Maarten Nauw